Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting The Technical Forum Blue Ridge Oil Paint Brand

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Barbara WC

I don’t see this brand often mentioned.

Anyone here use this Blue Ridge? What do you think?

What is the texture like- is it stiff out of the tube and need medium to spread more easily on the canvas, or is it more creamy and spreadable and can be used straight from the tube? Or, I doubt this is the case, is it very soft, almost runny out of the tube?

I am new to oils, and just fleshing out a palette. I really like M. Graham’s so far, but there are a few pigments in their line that I am not crazy about (at least in their watercolor paint line- like their quin rose- too acidic orangey pink to me, and I don’t care for their burnt sienna in watercolor). Right now I only have 3 MG tubes in my possession- yellow ochre (not crazy about this hue), Burnt Umber (nice) and Titanium white.

I bought one tube of Gamblin a couple of days ago- not too impressed with texture and stupidly, I bought a Perm. Aliz Crimson which in my opinion is a bad mix. I wasn’t paying attention to the label when I bought it (they use Anthraquinone Red, PR177 mixed with phthalo emerald PG36, and this combo looks nice out of the tube, and tinted with white, but is a horrible mixer with other colors in my opinion). I know it’s not fair to judge a line of paint based on one tube, and maybe this one isn’t the best example…