WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Art Business Center > General Art Business > Internet Sales Strategies
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Reply  
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:47 PM
azyl's Avatar
azyl azyl is offline
Enthusiast
Quebec
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,039
 
Hails from Canada
is this a scam?

I have paintings on Fine Art America . On this site originals are not offered for sale through the FineArtAmerica secure checkout system. They say to contact the artist directly to purchase an artwork.

So, someone did contact me. They asked me kindly how much the painting would be with shipping and said they could pay through paypal...

I gave them the info they wanted, and my paypal adress for payment.

an hour later I received payment in my paypal account.

Everything is looks really good except this...the buyer has requested I ship to another adress instead of the one listed in paypal. I normaly wouldn't fuss about this but the painting is a big one and it just scares me a bit.

If anyone knows if this is a scam, please do tell so I can take care of this.

Thanks
Lisa
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:54 PM
JeffG's Avatar
JeffG JeffG is offline
Lord of the Arts
NJ, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,025
 
Hails from United States
Re: is this a scam?

I have no idea if this is a scam, but having a shipping address different than a billing address is not uncommon. I used to have things billed to my home address, then shipped to my work address to ensure I wouldnt have a big package sitting alone out on the porch.
__________________
Jeff G.

Dedicated to wasting bandwidth since 1999.

http://www.jeffgola.com
Reply With Quote
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-19-2008, 06:03 PM
jocelynsart's Avatar
jocelynsart jocelynsart is offline
A Local Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,739
 
Hails from Canada
Re: is this a scam?

You will not be covered by Paypal if the address you ship to is Not the one registered to the Buyer's Paypal account.
Jocelyn
Reply With Quote
  #4   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:39 PM
sks's Avatar
sks sks is offline
Veteran Member
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 834
 
Hails from Canada
Re: is this a scam?

Wow, Jocelyn... I didn't know that either
Thanks for the heads up.... and I'm so glad I checked out this thread.
I'm also on Fine Art America
Cheers
Sharon
__________________
www.steinhausstudio.com
http://steinhausstudio.blogspot.com/

Support Your Local Artist"
Reply With Quote
  #5   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:08 PM
TBond's Avatar
TBond TBond is offline
Enthusiast
Ireland
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,178
 
Hails from Ireland
Re: is this a scam?

I wouldn't think it's a scam but as Jocelyn said, you will not be protected by paypal... Is it at least in the same town?
__________________
Tanya - My Facebook, My Etsy, My Zazzle

Reply With Quote
  #6   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-20-2008, 04:26 AM
timelady's Avatar
timelady timelady is offline
A WC! Legend
She who rambles
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,082
 
Hails from United Kingdom
Re: is this a scam?

I agree that it may not be a scam but definitely tell them you can only ship to the Payer's registered address, the one on Paypal, to be protected under Paypal's seller policies. It is pretty standard business practice to only ship to the address registered with form of payment, for small businesses at least. The Paypal address will be the address registered to their credit card since that's how Paypal works.

Tina.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-20-2008, 06:55 AM
hillrune's Avatar
hillrune hillrune is offline
A WetCanvas! Patron Saint
Acadiana
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,608
 
Hails from United States
Re: is this a scam?

You should ask why a different address and whose address it is.
I have done it when there was a proper explanation. For instance as a gift.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:49 PM
azyl's Avatar
azyl azyl is offline
Enthusiast
Quebec
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,039
 
Hails from Canada
Re: is this a scam?

Thanks all for answering.

It seems legit. The buyer paid me right away and provided me with another adress in the "note to seller" on the paypal transaction details page. It's because they will be on vacation. And at least the other adresse is in the same state.

It's not like they sent me the other adress in a seperate email or anything. So after talking it over with my husband we decided to take the chance and ship it.

If it's a scam I honestly don't know how they would scam me. The only thing that comes to mind is that they would clame that the painting never arrived and want there money back. But I have tracking and insurance on it plus it's not a 2000$ painting either.

So if it's a scam I'll be back to tell you all about it. Lets hope it isn't
__________________
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Copyright 1998-2013, F+W Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.