WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Subjects > Classical Art
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Reply  
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:30 AM
GMGen GMGen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 68
 
Hails from United States
is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

I am preparing to copy a fairly involved painting (St. Francis of the Desert by Bellini), and I have a very large and high definition image of it (22 mb), and I would like to put a grid over it to make it easier to transfer. Anyone know an easy way to do that? I dont have photoshop, but I have nero and the stuff that comes with the computer (windows photo editing software, paint, etc)

any advice is appreciated

thanks
__________________
The predicate is the most important part of a thoughtful sentence. The noun is the premise. The object is a negligible echo: it makes the thought specific, and banal. I could paint a picture called The Doe. Pisanello has painted them. I also may want to paint a picture The Doe Feels. How infinitely more subtle must the painter's sensitivity be in order to paint that!
-Franz Marc: "How Does a Horse See the World?"
Reply With Quote
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:54 AM
WCampbell WCampbell is offline
Senior Member
Northwest Arizona
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 240
 
Hails from United States
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

I'm not sure, either. ??? I use the software that came with my camera from Canon. It has a grid and ruler function in the 'view' drop down menu. I wish it had a way to change the size of the grid, but it doesn't. So I too, am interested in what is found out...

Will ask the rest of the people I know when they wake up. They're photographers and such and might have a jewel or two in thier bag of tricks...

WCampbell
Reply With Quote
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:33 AM
oilchange's Avatar
oilchange oilchange is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
 
Hails from Canada
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

Draw lines over the image in:
Photoshop
Paint
Word (insert picture>from file) Use the drawing toolbar to overlay lines
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:26 PM
PushingPixels's Avatar
PushingPixels PushingPixels is offline
A WetCanvas! Patron Saint
California Central Coast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,306
 
Hails from United States
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

Photoshop or most other image editing programs offer a display grid and I have used this many times to reproduce a picture. A little tip if you are working from a photo you may want to lighten it first by placing it on top of a white background and reducing the opacity using the layers window.
I always convert my image to a grayscale first and play with the brightness and contrast to make it easier to convert to a line drawing.

Use the menu item View/Grid,,, then go to your preferences and grid settings to type in the desired grid for your trace.
Once your grid is right use the line tool and the snap to grid feature to mark off your desired grid on a NEW layer.

Print and transfer the image to canvas.

I have also used Illustrator to print oversized inages (it prints in sections that fit a page and they can be cut and pieced back together with very little effort)

If you have any questions on my process feel free to e-mail me using the link on my profile-hope this helps!!

here is a snapshot.
__________________
PushingPixels >> website <<
"Life is a journey full of surprises, have fun along the way"

> Critique_etiquette >> Join Wet Canvas >> Learn Stuff


Last edited by PushingPixels : 09-12-2007 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:33 PM
PushingPixels's Avatar
PushingPixels PushingPixels is offline
A WetCanvas! Patron Saint
California Central Coast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,306
 
Hails from United States
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

I just realized that you wrote (I don't have photoshop) I will check the windows photo editor but if you can find no other way if you belong to an art association maybe someone you know has Photoshop and can help.
__________________
PushingPixels >> website <<
"Life is a journey full of surprises, have fun along the way"

> Critique_etiquette >> Join Wet Canvas >> Learn Stuff

Reply With Quote
  #6   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-13-2007, 12:24 AM
PushingPixels's Avatar
PushingPixels PushingPixels is offline
A WetCanvas! Patron Saint
California Central Coast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,306
 
Hails from United States
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

Tip ...do a search on www.download.com using keywords paint and photo editing programs. There are a few very affordable programs out there and some are free.
The windows paint and photo editor programs are not offering much.
__________________
PushingPixels >> website <<
"Life is a journey full of surprises, have fun along the way"

> Critique_etiquette >> Join Wet Canvas >> Learn Stuff

Reply With Quote
  #7   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:39 PM
jwfilion jwfilion is offline
Member
Northern Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 65
 
Hails from Canada
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

Here is the one I use...

http://www.paintbygrids.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-27-2007, 11:48 PM
Keith Russell's Avatar
Keith Russell Keith Russell is offline
A WC! Legend
Lenexa, Kansas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 33,052
 
Hails from United States
Sorry, but I gotta ask...

Print it out, tape the sections together, and draw your grid.

(But, what's 'Classical' 'bout usin' the 'puter?)
Reply With Quote
  #9   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-28-2007, 12:49 AM
Eggy's Avatar
Eggy Eggy is offline
Enthusiast
Great Britain
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,541
 
Hails from United Kingdom
Re: is there any way to apply a grid to a picture on the computer?

This is an aside.
Known as the techno twerp, I would like to know how to transfer a full-sized painting using some of those photo editing programs.

Thanks.
__________________
" A mere copior of nature can never produce anything great ".
Joshua Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #10   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-30-2007, 01:01 PM
PushingPixels's Avatar
PushingPixels PushingPixels is offline
A WetCanvas! Patron Saint
California Central Coast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,306
 
Hails from United States
Cool Re: Sorry, but I gotta ask...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Russell
Print it out, tape the sections together, and draw your grid.

(But, what's 'Classical' 'bout usin' the 'puter?)

I agree! we are so dependant on computers these days! LOL

God forbid. If Michelangelo had needed a computer we would never have the Sistine Chapel's beautiful works. Nothing like a good ol preliminary sketch and a transfer.

Human beings are always trying to come up with bigger and better ways to do that which has already been done... it is our nature.

__________________
PushingPixels >> website <<
"Life is a journey full of surprises, have fun along the way"

> Critique_etiquette >> Join Wet Canvas >> Learn Stuff

Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


© 2014 F+W All rights reserved.