Home Forums Explore Media Acrylics Canvas vs. Canvas Board

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    N.Wiley

Being a beginner I am wondering what you prefer to work on, stretched canvas or canvas board? what are the advantages and disadvantages of both? Also, is it best to gesso first or not? What are advantages and disadvantages of that? :)

[FONT=Arial]Nancy W.
        [FONT=Arial]On the road that I have taken, one day, walking, I awaken, [FONT=Arial]amazed to see where I have come, [FONT=Arial]where I'm going, where I'm from.---The Book of Counted Sorrows, Dean Koontz

Mz_Sketch_Pad

i like the hardness of the canvas board- i can do my blending- which requires alot of scrubbing at least for me it does and the board works better than the canvas for me – that’s my vote

SEE MY PAINTINGS

My Portfolio:JOYFUL ART

Guide

yes!

Generally, unless marked as archival, canvas board is a practice surface. You can get archival but it is a few dollars more. I happen to like working on Multimedia ArtBoard, Canvas over hardboard or Canvas stretched. It depends on size, affect and feel I want.

You can get canvas in various weaves that are generally stretched but rarely will you find many choices in canvas board. If you like a smooth surface you can gesso. You may want to consider going to the information kiosk and doing some reading in there. It is always filled with good stuff.

So, the answer to the above questions is yes, yes and no, sometimes but not always.

Click here to go to the information kiosk My You Tube Channel 48hlc48
                The only person you can't fool, is yourself! (Oz The Great and Powerful)
                "If you think you can, or think you can't, your right!"
                "The thing about art is that life is in no danger of being meaningless," Robert Genn

It’s personal choice for most of us!
                Boards need to be framed – chunky canvases don’t. :D

Cheers, Maureen