Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting The Technical Forum Making Paint From Pigments

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    gunzorro

I am a little new at making paint from pigments, but have mixed up a fair amount so far. Before I go further and order more pigments, I was wondering if I could get some advice?
        I’ve tried pigment from several sources: Kremer, Maimeri, Natural Pigments and an unknown older source. All are quite gritty, even after mixing with a metal plaster’s knive on frosted glass surface. They work, but the handling and matte surface effect are not exactly what I want, at least not all the time.
        I also have a mortar and pestle around 700ml volume, which I found all but useless for grinding/mixing a fair amound of paint.
        I admire manufactured paint and enjoy the consistency of the better ones like Old Holland and Mussini, but don’t know if this is possible with handmade paint. I know the next step is to get a glass muller and start grinding to finer particle size.
        To complicate things, effort-wise, I like to make batches of a single pigment of at least 100ml at a time, and tube it up in appropriate sizes, usually a couple 40ml and a 15ml from a session.
        Is it possible to rival the smoothness of manufactured paint?
        How long should I expect to grind 100ml to come up with satisfactory results?
        Is there an easier, faster way to grind down the pigment to finer, more consistent particles?
        Thanks, Jim

turlogh

Get yourself a muller and slab. Your paint making experience will be very different.

David Rourke
            gunzorro

Making large batches is still practical with a muller? I was looking at getting a glass muller by Lucas, 100mm in diameter, to try to get as much done as possible. I have a sheet of 1/4″ glass about 14×20.

gunzorro