Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting Limited palette

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    beec

Hello everybody.

I feel so dense…

After a very long break from painting, I am attempting to get back to this after many disruptions and house moves. Brain feels frazzled, I can’t for the life of me remember what limited oil palette I used! I know you pro’s will be rolling your eyes reading this but as a novice, I have to ask for your advice. I know I need a cool and warm red, yellow and blue.
        (I’m being seduced by many beautiful advertised jewel colours.) :lol:

Please, what suggestions can you give for a limited oil palette? Mainly to use for a landscape, not pleine air.

Thank you!

Delofasht

My all purpose transparent pigment based palette is:

PY129 Azo Green
            PY110 Indian Yellow
            PR101 Transparent Oxide Red
            PV19 Quinacridone Rose
            PB27 Prussian Blue
            PW6/4 Titanium White

To make black just mix transparent colors to get a deep dark. Add in an opaque of your favorite colors to give you some variety if you like, glaze for vibrant colors over lighter tints of colors if you want high chroma. Mix the green and yellow to get a middle yellow if needed, mix the blue and green to get a more emerald green if you need, add white to anything to give opacity. So on and so on.

My full palette includes a lot of other colors, usually used to supplement in some out of gamut opaques when I need to paint more directly (for faster finishes for client work). For general painting, this is an inexpensive and versatile, if a bit slightly different, basic palette.

You have a number of colors you can swap in though, like bringing in Ultramarine instead of Prussian (sacrifices some green range), or using an opaque red instead of PR101 Transparent. These are just bringing things to tastes though.