WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Acrylics
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Closed Thread  

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2004, 03:15 AM
Edinburgh, Scotland

Hails from Scotland
Piping with acrylics

Hi,
I'm totally new to acrylics (or any other medium for that matter!), and I was wondering what I could use to create a sort of "piping" effect to represent, say, a flower stalk, or round a leaf, and how I would go about it.
Thanks in advance for any help.

Great site this! I've been lurking here for a while and reading all sorts of useful stuff.

Susan
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2004, 04:45 AM
A Local Legend
New Zealand

Hails from New Zealand
Re: Piping with acrylics

well that one's easy! Your'e asking a cake decorator! Use a piping bag and nozzle..you'll need some impasto gel or similar to thicken the texture yet make it smooth..(and keep this stuff separate from your food )I imagine any squeezie bottle (like a mustard one) would do at a pinch..I hear PVA glue works as a medium but I've yet to try it..
you could also try straight from the tube, use an OLD cap of a previous tube, poke a hole in and away you go..
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2004, 04:53 AM
Edinburgh, Scotland

Hails from Scotland