WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Glass Art > Let's Talk > Glass Technical Forum
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 02-19-2004, 01:50 PM
Minneapolis, MN

Hails from United States
Faux dicro technique!

Ok, I'm a newbie and am still learning. So my photos aren't of fabulous beads, but they do show this cool faux dichro look I stumbled upon.

I was experimenting with some of my rubber stamping embossing powders while making beads to see what would happen. The powders that are "pearl" style seem to make my beads look like I used dichroic glass! I tried several colors with different results, but so far I've been rather pleased.

I rolled the bead in just a bit of powder when the red cooled off, then brought it back into the flame to liquify it a bit. Sometimes I did seem to get spots (like on the silver pearl), I'm not quite sure why. But do wear a mask while rolling the beads in the powder, it does get rather smelly.

The beads shown were done in black, rolled in powder, then encased with clear.
Attached Images

#2   Report Bad Post  
Old 02-19-2004, 01:53 PM
Immortalized
South Florida

Hails from United States
Re: Faux dicro technique!

Wow! That does look like dichroic! Are you using Pearl-Ex?

my etsy