Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting The Technical Forum Beginner: Picking a palette with 200ml tubes?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Ebi

Hi,

after a very long hiatus in drawing/painting, I’ve decided to pick the hobby up again.

This past month I’ve been putting together a potential palette (and yes, that included using the search function here. A lot. ;-)).

Since I’m still learning and still need to discover where I want to go with painting, I want something that can guide me through anything I’d possibly want to paint.
        I also want a large palette because I like colour!! Last time I felt pretty miserable having only 3 colours to work with.
        While I won’t use every colour in one painting, I like knowing I have that option.

Palette-wise I want to be able to experiment with different palettes within this big one.
        Painting-wise I want the palette to be versatile enough to grow with me
        (as in, I can’t really draw right now, so I predict that the first few months most of my stuff will be colour studies/testing limited palettes/abstract/bright stuff…
        but as my skills develop I will definitely want to try my hand at realism/still life and natural landscapes).

I have “new art supplies” fear. Especially when I only have a tiny amount of something, I feel like I need to be stingy.
        So I would like to throw in some 200ml tubes, so I can experiment freely with those (either as a warm up, or to do colour studies/technique studies etc.) without feeling too bad.

I just can’t figure out which of the below colours would be most versatile to warrant a big tube?

This is the complete palette I was thinking of:

WN – Titanium White
        WN – Winsor Lemon
        (Rembrandt Cad. Yellow Light which I already own)
        WN – Winsor Yellow
        WN – Yellow Ocher Pale
        Lukas 1862 – Cad. Orange – because it’s cheaper than WN
        Lukas 1862 – Cad. Red light
        WN – Bright Red