Home Forums The Learning Center Studio Tips and Framing Painting with gloves

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    MarcF

I’m fairly new to painting – but I have a nice studio set up now.
        I’m into oil paint – so – needless to say it’s quite messy.
        I got tired of scrubbing my hands 25 times a day.
        I can’t even open a tube of paint without getting even just a little on my hand. If I forget and start to paint, my hands get covered. I try to be neat but it gets all over the place, and takes lots of scrubbing to remove. And of course the thinners also get all over my skin.

I was never one for working much with gloves on, but I got these blue “examination gloves” at the local CVS. They’re thicker and better than the latex gloves I had around and started with. So now I have a rule – no painting without gloves. I barely notice that they are on my hands and when I’m done painting and I pull them off, NO SCRUBBING. Just a light wash with regular soft hand soap. My hands were taking such a beating – now they thank me.

Anyone else? What is your method for protecting your hands and skin? And what about your eyes? My regular glasses are all I’m using. You?

La_

ha, you’re a funny one, marc … how is it that you can be So Precise in your designs, paintings, set up, prep, yet so chaotically Messy with the actual paint?!

i don’t do rubber gloves unless I’m working with ‘oneshot’ [sign painters paint, contains lead]
            and certainly i’ve spilled paint, made messes and wrecked some clothes, but somehow, probably not by just dumb luck, i manage to contain the paint to pallet and canvas.

something(s) in your routine needs tweaking, apparently.

la

MarcF

la You nailed it!
                I plan and detail my work down to the millimeter.
                I have every brush, tube of paint, jar of liquid, palette knife in a specific location, and with a label if necessary.