Home Forums Explore Media Pen and Ink How can I improve my art?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    inter_astra

Hello. I’m new to WetCanvas, so I hope I’m putting this in the right place. Anyway, I have been working on a new style for my art. I use black gel pens and a mechanical pencil. I have been having some trouble with my art lately. I love doing it, but I always hate my finished work. I’m not a very good self-critic, but there seems to be something wrong with my art. I can’t figure out what it is. In any case, I think my style needs a lot of improvement. So can anyone tell me how I can improve my art? What’s good about my art, and what’s bad about it? Should I even continue with this style?

Anonymous

Well I’ve been practicing various aspects of art seriously for over 30 years & cannot answer that question for you !
            BUT I can tell you where the answer lies, it is within yourself & only within yourself .
            What you’ve got to understand is that “good art” by which I mean- Genuine creative art comes from inside yourself & from nowhere else.
            Many really famous artists lived life as really poor people – they never even sold a piece in their whole life ! BUT NOW they are appreciated as one of the best artists who ever lived ! Like Van Gogh for instance.
            The lesson that this must teach us is to follow our own feelings about what we personally feel is good art & what isn’t, disregard fashion & the current popular “in thing” & what anybody else thinks about our your art.
            Go you own way regardless of what other people say.
            But how do you find your own way ? I hear you cry.

BY LOOKING AT LOADS OF DIFFERENT ARTISTS & SEEING WHAT ART REALLY INSPIRES YOU.
            Copy it, or bits of it very carefully. You can absorb some of the spirit of the original artist in this way.