WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Pastels > Soft Pastel Talk
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Closed Thread  

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-21-2017, 08:03 AM

Starting a portrait painting

I am a newbie, when it comes to pastels and painting in general, so I was wondering how do you start a portrait painting? I tend to start with hard pastels, drawing eyes, nose and so on, basically doing a lineart. While drawing I make a lot of adjustments, and when I finally start to see a resemblence to a reference I use hard pastels to block the main values. Then, I make some more adjustments and in the end I use soft pastels for colors and refining the values.