Home Forums Explore Media Acrylics Grainy paint – I need your help.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Cypress11

I am an artist who has been painting for about 2 years and I’ve ALWAYS had difficulty with acrylics. I hate acrylics (see my name) because I can never get the paint to apply correctly. When I attempt detailed work or just want to blend, the paint and color look very grainy and never stick correctly. I understand the basic science of painting – fat over lean. I will give you a list of things I have tried:

1. Changing brushes (no matter the quality – I have everything from artists’ loft to windsor acryllic brushes). I’ve tried watercolour, acrylic, and oil brushes, from natural to synthetic.

2. Adding Matte Gel, thick, heavy, or soft gloss. – doesn’t work

3. Practiced loading and unloading paint to the brush – shovel techniques and so on.

4. changing variations of how much water is added – from no water to a lot of water.

5. Switched from inorganic to organic paints and so on.

6. Worked on different angles I have used for my brush while painting – from 90 to 15 degrees, I’ve tried it. I’ve also tried how much pressure I’ve applied while painting and it doesn’t work.

7. Used different brands from Liquitex Basics (for some reason, these tend to work much better) to Golden (works the worst of all paints). I am not sure why Golden is such a terrible paint for me to use, as I love their hues, but it is horrible when trying to paint detail.

8. Switched canvases from artists loft to Artists’ quality canvases only.

It seems like I’ve tried everything and absolutely nothing works. I need help because I want to be able to use acrylics due to the ease of cleaning and are less toxic than oils. I mean seriously, it looks horrible – from trying to paint a thin line to trying and blend.

Guide

Fat over lean doesn’t apply in acrylics.