Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting The Technical Forum Dealing with oily rags, telephone books…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Barbara WC

Another novice here at oil painting.

I am aware of the dangers of having oily rags in a pile and combusting. I know some people put their oily rags in water- either in a metal can or plastic bag, then dispose.

My husband is a hobby woodworker, and he deals with his oily rags by spreading out in a single layer with lots of air flow, and when the rags dry, he throws them out. He usually uses Teak or Danish oil, so his rags dry pretty fast. He doesn’t work often on his woodworking, so he doesn’t usually have more than a couple of rags at a time. We haven’t had a fire over the past 15 years…

I bought and have been trying to work with watersoluble oils now for a few days. Since I’m able to clean brushes in water while painting, I don’t have any oily rags to deal with. This to me is the real draw to watersoluble oils (and working solvent free).

Yesterday I went and got 3 tubes of M. Graham oil paints to compare the watersolubles to some traditional oil paints. I want to work solvent free, so I used paper towels and safflower oil bought at the grocer to clean my brushes while working (if I stick with traditional oils, I’ll probably switch to artist grade walnut oil for cleaning).

Today I have 3 oily paper towels hanging around my studio with clothes pins, waiting for them to dry. None of them are soaked, just a few paint marks and a few oil blotches. Maybe on each towel, total surface area of about 1/4 would be “oiled”.