Home Forums Explore Media Drawing and Sketching Advice on grey toned drawing paper

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    tryingtodraw

Hi everyone, I’m taking an online drawing course that recommends students to use a grey toned paper. Canford Dreadnought grey to be specific. Unfortunately that’s not something that’s available here so I’ll have to order. In searching I was surprised that finding grey toned drawing paper wasn’t that easy, since most of the better drawing I’ve been seeing lately are often on a grey or tan base paper.

So I’m curious to know what toned papers specifically for drawing are people using? Is there a huge difference using pastel paper, which seems to be quite textured?

Thanks!

PamSav

Sorry, I’m not an experienced artist so I can’t help with any advice. I can only speak for my own preference and that is for drawing I much prefer a white background. I’m experimenting with coloured/tinted paper for my coloured pencil work but haven’t tried it just for grahite drawings. The pastel papers I’ve used so for with my coloured pencils vary in texture a great deal. The make I like best so far is Canson Mi-Tientes because it has a honeycomb surface on the “right” side but the other side will also take coloured pencils well and is much smoother. It also comes in a range of grey tones and earth tones.

Pam
            My Art Blog - My Digital Scrapbooking Blog
            My work can always be seen at higher resolution in My Flickr Gallery

We have a few artists here who use toned paper – most by far use plain white. The techniques for using toned paper are actually fairly different from white paper because you have to use chalk or pastel for the whites instead of using the white paper to help with that. For realism you would want the smoothest paper you can get but beyond that I really don’t know much. I’m sure some of our members who use toned paper will stop by and offer their suggestions.

janinco