Home Forums The Town Center Welcome Forum! New painter very excited about this amazing new passion

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hello, my name is Matt, I just started painting a couple months ago, and it’s quickly become my passion. There are just so many styles, techniques, subjects, colors, compositions, and on and on and on. It can sometimes be overwhelming, I go to learn one thing online and end up branching out to an impressionist page here, and impasto demo there; pretty soon I forget what I was originally looking for(kind of how I ended up here). I’m hoping I’ll be able to find some easy to follow, but quality demonstrations and information on WetCanvas. I’m already a little unsure of myself in terms of navigating this site. I don’t know much about forums, or threads, or if it was appropriate for me to start this thread for instance??? But I see this sight come up in my searches a lot. And it seems like there’s some really wonderful resources, I’m just not really clear about how to traverse through it all. I’m on my phone, I don’t know if that’s making it harder for me or not. At any rate, I love art and painting, mainly in acrylic for now, because I don’t have a lot of money or a good space for working with all the clean up or whatnot. But I love the consistency and richness of oil. So I’ve been working with acrylic and acrylic mediums. So far I love liquidex light modeling paste, and golden heavy gel gloss medium, the way it makes the paint glide across the surface, so awesome. And I have about a million questions, so any suggestions are welcome. All advice is welcome(as long as it’s not mean). Thanks for reading, hope to hear from you! -Matt:wave:

Greggo

Welcome to the WC Welcome Forum!

This is the place to introduce yourself and for us to pass on to you some tips.