Home Forums Explore Media Acrylics Can I ask this? Liquitex vs Golden?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    texana6

:wave: I’m a newbie, working on my third painting. “Pink Rose, Texas State Cemetery” on an earlier post was my second. When I decided to try acrylics I decided to jump right in to using artist grade and chose Liquitex I guess because they seemed to be most available. Today I had an acquaintance ask why I was using Liquitex rather than Golden. She says that the Liquitex doesn’t have nearly as much pigment load as Golden. I was fussing because my glazes thinned with glazing medium seemed a bit overly thin or weak. Is there a significant difference in pigment load between these two brands? What is YOUR experience?

By the way, my previous experience was drawing in silverpoint, pen and ink … so painting is very different to me. I chose acrylics because I didn’t want to work with the turpenoid or whatever it is that is mixed with oil paints and didn’t want to wait a long time for my paintings to dry.

My initial attempt at watercolors was a disaster, and I must say the acrylics are much better behaved!

But back to the question: Is there a significant difference between Liquitex and Golden artist grade acrylics.

Linda Wolff
        Comments and suggestions always welcome

Mostly the pigment load. When I first started I bought Liquitex for economic reasons but since I have been changing out the Liquitex for W&N Finity and Golden. These paints are much better. A little bit can go a long way.

Carol
        "Mercifully free of the ravages of intelligence" - Time Bandits[/color]
        Moderator: Acrylic Forum
        My websites: Discoveries With Colour Adventures in Photography[/B]

Mantema