Home Forums Explore Media Digital Art Photoshop tips for "oil" painting?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    CSForest

I’ve been painting in real oils my whole life. Recently I decided to try going digital for a number of reasons. I have Photoshop CS5 and have been playing around with the mixer brushes and bristle brushes, trying to achieve something resembling traditional oil painting but am not having much luck. Real oil paints, when dragged over a painting surface, leave little bits of rough edges and holes, even on a fairly smooth surface. Photoshop brushes seem to blend everything to be too smooth, or leave straight edges of the brush stroke that are obviously digital. I can’t seem to find a way to get a little “roughness” or texture in the strokes. I’m relatively new to this so perhaps I’m not using the right brushes, or the right blending modes or something. Anyone have some tips for getting digital brush strokes to look more like real brush strokes?

Crista Forest
        My Animal Art Sites
        [/COLOR] -- My Animal Art Gifts -- My Art Prints Page

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Delofasht

The best photoshop tip I could give for this is to get a different program. :lol:

I’m half kidding here, no matter what you do you will always find that Photoshop has a digital look. Even when you get close the texture still will have that digital look, I spent nearly 2 years trying to get what I wanted it to do. I strongly suggest saving yourself some time and getting Painter or the extremely inexpensive and in my opinion far better simulation software in ArtRage.