Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting Self-Portrait process picture + advice desired

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

So I’ve been working on a self-portrait loosely based on a photograph taken of me, and while it’s still largely incomplete, It’s definitely been frustrating. I’m still a student-artist, and this is my first time doing a really involved human form, let alone two human(ish) forms. I have two concerns, and I’d love any advice anyone can throw my way:

1. I’m really struggling with the monster/eldritch horror in the background, because I’m having a hard time visualizing something I really have no reference for. For example, I have absolutely no clue what to do with the eyes. What’s more unsettling: deep cavernous holes where they should be, or regular, human-ish eyes? Or something else maybe? He’s meant to look sunken and frail, but also spindly and creepy, almost like a spider in a way. I’m trying to make him look like an un-canny valley, starved corpse-like creature.

2. I have light brown/very dark blonde hair, depending on the lighting, and I’m really having trouble finding the colors I need to use for my hair. Any color-experts who can give me advice, that would be greatly appreciated. So far I’ve been using burnt sienna, raw umber, yellow ochre, a mix of pthalo and ultramarine blue for a more neutral-toned blue color, and white/naples yellow for highlights.

Next steps after that will be to tone down the pants and start working on some sort of pattern for the orange bag.

Portrait:

Reference Photo:

AnnieA

Wow…that’s quite a leap from the photo to the painting. Good job there. I kinda like the painting more or less as it is, with a very graphic quality, but it sounds like you have a different vision for it. I’m no help on the eyes of the monster, except to suggest googling and switching to the “Images” results.

[FONT=Arial]C&C always welcome ©[/I] [/font]
        [FONT=Palatino]