Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    RMart61

Im new to the forum and im a airbrush artist, but all my airbrush equipment is packed up for a move out of state so i thought i would give colored pencils a try. This is my first shot at colored pencils. I have no idea what im doing.

KaySilver

There’s tons of different styles and ways to use coloured pencils, so anything goes!

At one end of the spectrum you’ve got the classic pencil look (light layers and pencil strokes showing – it’s obviously a pencil drawing), while at the other end you’ve got the use of use thick layers and solvents to achieve an oil-painting effect. And everything in between!

If you want to get the best out of pencils there’s definitely a learning curve (especially if you’re used to other media) but once you start to get a feel for them they’re great, because they’re so clean and portable. Unlike airbrushing, you can take them out with a sketchbook, or sit and work in front of the TV. No mess, no clean-up…nice and relaxing!

If you want some tuition to learn the basics, just search online. The effects you can achieve will depend somewhat on the quality of your pencils.

Your wild cat looks good so far. Are you finished or are you planning to work on it some more?

RMart61

Im working it somemore. I just used the creame color for a base. Now im adding the darks, mid tones, then the lights and then the highlights. I use prisma color pencils.
                Thanks for the info..hope i get better at this..lol.

Rick

brissie

Very cute hope youre having fun and keep posting.
                    Also there are lots of utube tutorials on coloured pencil artists

KaySilver

Im working it somemore. I just used the creame color for a base. Now im adding the darks, mid tones, then the lights and then the highlights. I use prisma color pencils.
                        Thanks for the info..hope i get better at this..lol.

Rick