Home Forums Explore Subjects Art Journals A Beginner’s Journey in Urban Sketch

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Pesto126

Hi All.. my first foray into “urban sketching”… more of a “learning how to draw/paint” journal.. hope you can critique and offer suggestions as I continue to learn and grow my skills. I feel I’ve already come a long way but am here to learn as well. Thanks!

It looks good to me, a great first PA sketch.

Doug

We must leave our mark on this world

Minerva C

:thumbsup: Nice sketch!

C

"It is only when we are no longer fearful that we begin to create."
            J.M.W. Turner

I am a beginner myself.

It looks pretty good for a first experience.:thumbsup:

Maria - Made in Portugal
            "Really I don't like human nature unless all candied over with art" - Virginia Woolf

https://womenwagepeace.org.il/en/

Pesto126

thanks all – appreciate the feedback!

Pesto126

I like drawing homes/barns and city scenes from places I visit… this is one from last month of an old, stately home I saw while stopped at a red light. Snapped a quick photo and did the work later that day… still getting the hang of drawing in perspective and trying to get the watercolors to behave… ie: the sky is blotchy/ trying to get better with shadows / being more dynamic with color)

Good sketch. You don’t have to reproduce the original sky, you can simply give your sketch a blue sky.

Doug

Joan T

Nice sketches!!! You are off to a good start.

[FONT=Book Antiqua]Joan T
                        [FONT=Book Antiqua]www.watercolorsbyjoan2.blogspot.com

Delofasht

Fantastic linework, very confident and direct. Very nice pieces so far, look forward to seeing more.

- Delo Delofasht
                            Pesto126

Thanks all… here is a new one that I made… even with my limited time and skills – I think I have found a style that works for me… constructive criticism and suggestions always welcome!