Home Forums Explore Media Printmaking Special case blockrelief printing advice.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    BrianGilbert

Should probably have hinted the key point in the advice.

I’m a lifelong artist who’s focused primarily in digital art starting….waaay…..back…before it became common. My early adoption to that medium was primarily due to my physical disability. I have great dexterity but limited strength and reach. Lately I’m re-exploring more tangible mediums of all types and currently interested in printmaking (as an art form)

Having a ‘goldilocks moment’ with relief printing block materials. Can’t seem to post links yet but I’ve named the products exactly as on the site.

Blick Battleship Gray Linoleum – I can barely gouge into this at all.

Blick Readycut – Somewhat doable but requires quite a bit of effort.

Speedball Speedy-Cut Carving Blocks – I can work this very easily…it’s almost TOO soft though and seems to crumble…or I’m just inexperienced.

Any suggestion on a possible ‘just right’ block martial? Buying art supplies, for me, can become very expensive due to the trial & error nature of physically being ale to use some material.

I know that due to the small size I tend to work at (5 x 7 lately for tests), I’m often pushing the limits of some material but I don’t think it’s beyond many master prints I’ve seen….granted I KNOW I’m far far far from ‘master’. I can use the hand tools well so long as the block is the right density.

Note that I’m also exploring etching as well but will address those questions in a separate post.

Thanks in advance for any input anyone may have.

Brian Gilbert
        Darklight Studio, Inc.
        http://www.darklightstudio.com

Diane Cutter

Hi, Brian… I know how experimenting can cha-ching the cash register.