Home Forums Explore Media Casein, Gouache, and Egg Tempera Acrylic Gouache (Holbein, Vallejo, etc…)

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    YKA

Hello Everyone,

There’s no question that pure classic Gouache is a wonderful medium.

Its big drawback, though, is the tendancy of some colours to shift, and for all colours to lighten up in value in the drying process.
        It’s not so bad with the best brands.
        I’m astonished that that isn’t more talked about in the Forum…

But for me, it’s a problem: I’m an illustrator. And if a character wears a yellow blouse, it must be the same yellow the next time she appears in an illustration, even if I paint it 2 months later.
        It is something you can control and get used to. But it needs a lot of practice. In short, if I don’t work in Gouache, say, 2 times a week, I have very poor control of how my colours will go up in value once dried.

Something else: I might have to paint something 4 times over, and still need to get bright unmuddled colours.

Because of that, most of the time, I prefer to work with Acrylic Gouache.
        And I’m astonished that they’ve been little spoken about in this forum. And mostly negatively.
        True: Classic Artists’ Gouache is a medium hard to beat, and even very good Acrylic Gouache doesn’t compare well for chroma, smoothness, texture, opacity, and handling capabilities with it.
        No question about it.

Still it’s a valuable alternative. It is much more opaque and thinnable than real 100% Acrylics.
        The Holbein Acryla Gouache is warmly and justly praised by Ron Howard.
        It is still difficult to me not to have some colours turning out a little too dull, when trying to tone them down in chroma. If somebody has a couple of tips?

But then, I’ve lately tested a couple (not yet all!) of the Vallejo Acrylic Gouache colours.