Home Forums Explore Media Acrylics Acrylics and Bob Ross method?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    missbenster

Hi!

I’m new to painting and also new to this forum, great to be here, I have been reading a lot of posts that has been helpful.

I was wondering, I have been trying the Bob Ross way of painting and have to say I love it but the only thing is I think it is to hard to use the oil paint at home and was wondering can I do the same method with acrylics and if so what can I use as underpaint?

I live in Iceland and there are not a lot of different types of paints and medium, I did ask the lady in the art supply store if this was possible and she said it was not but I want to be sure so I ask you my new friends:wave:

missbenster

Ahh forgot I do have Acrylic flow improver, do you think I can use that as an underpaint, maby mix it with titanium white?

Guide

Isn’t it Bob Ross that had the “magic white”. I think, you may be able to use either a glazing medium with white (extends the drying time) or maybe even gesso as the replacement for the white underpainting.

Certainly worth a try anyway.

Welcome to the acrylics forum and have a look around. Ask questions and just have a good time.

Click here to go to the information kiosk My You Tube Channel 48hlc48
                The only person you can't fool, is yourself! (Oz The Great and Powerful)
                "If you think you can, or think you can't, your right!"
                "The thing about art is that life is in no danger of being meaningless," Robert Genn

missbenster

I saw that on his site but wasn’t sure if he used it the same way, the only thing is that his supplies are not sold here in Iceland and I have wondered buying it online but wanted to check out if I could use something else to start with:)

Thank you so much for your answer…maby I should try gesso out because I have that here at home:)

Guide