Home Forums The Art Business Center General Art Business Question about shipping within US and packaging

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    pattonm

As a recent graduate from art school, I am brand new to the art-selling game. I have recently sold an 11×14 acrylic painting on canvas to a family friend. I am in North Carolina and the painting is going to Georgia, so I’m trying to figure out the least expensive way to ship it (USPS? Flat rate boxes? UPS? etc.)

There’s so much different information online, so I find asking others simplifies things.

As far as packaging to protect the painting, I’ve read about several different ways to do it- it’s overwhelming. I’ve seen people wrap paintings first in either brown paper, tissue paper, baking paper, or plastic wrap. Which is best? Then I assume bubble wrap would be next, and then sandwiching it between foam core or cardboard? Again, I want to know the best way to do this without spending too much on materials.

Thanks so much in advance!

DaveCrow

I would avoid anything with a texture touching the painting surface. Plastic wrap, bubble wrap, etc. Especially if the painting is warm in transit the texture can imprint itself in the paint.

"Let the paint be paint" --John Marin

Robin

Congrats on the sale!!!

I have successfully shipped hundreds of that exact size and I wrap in freezer paper, shiny side in, then use two of these priority boxes https://store.usps.com/store/product/shipping-supplies/priority-mail-box—1097-P_O_1097
                taped together since it’s just a smidge too short. I do one bubble wrap, large bubbles, pointing out, and if I need to, I use crumpled bubble or pillows that I recycle or get from neighbors to pad the space. It’s important that there by no shifting around inside the box.

It shouldn’t cost you more than $7 to $10 to ship that short distance.