Home Forums The Learning Center Studio Tips and Framing Has anyone built an easel out of PVC?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Agnes50

Hi all,
        I just started painting again after many years away and am not quite ready to plunk down $$$ for an easel. It seems like making one out of PVC should be fairly inexpensive and not too difficult. There are some examples here:

https://foamboardflyers.com/2019/07/08/pvc-easel/
        https://pvc-innovation.wonderhowto.com/news/pvc-pipe-easel-self-explanatory-0131213/

Is anybody using a DIY PVC easel, and if so, what are the pros and cons? Is it stable? Any ideas of a good way to make the height adjustable? Any tips would be much appreciated.

bongo

I have not. But if you’re looking for a low-cost alternative to an easel, consider a music stand. I know several artists that started off using them. You might find one on craigs list – you could also find a standard easel for cheap there too.

$27.
            https://www.amazon.com/GLEAM-Sheet-Music-Stand-Carrying/dp/B07D7QN1Z1/ref=pd_rhf_se_p_img_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=2S5FGS7W6CPAFFPH34YG

$35
            https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Portable-Sheet-Music-Stand/dp/B018FCZBMG/ref=sxin_3_ac_d_pm?ac_md=2-1-QmV0d2VlbiAkMjUgYW5kICQ0MA%3D%3D-ac_d_pm&keywords=music+stand&pd_rd_i=B018FCZBMG&pd_rd_r=ef457dd3-a04e-4404-9bf7-f0bca05dca2c&pd_rd_w=OV53c&pd_rd_wg=Mzcgx&pf_rd_p=24d053a8-30a1-4822-a2ff-4d1ab2b984fc&pf_rd_r=YFQTW9YJHB5GTANNTMFF&psc=1&qid=1571976263&s=musical-instruments

If you work facing a wall – two screws, two 2″x4″s
            $5
            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1t3iE8QR5t4
            (he starts off the video with “Hey this is me..”)

http://s3.amazonaws.com/wetcanvas-hdc/Community/images/18-Sep-2019/1999899-sigsmall.jpg
            STUDIOBONGO

Agnes50