Home Forums The Learning Center Student’s Dorm Self teaching vs Atelier

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    L Boogie

I like classical art, realism etc, I’m self taught but I want to take my work to a higher level. Most people who seem to achieve that level of classical art have studied at Ateliers etc

My question really is it possible to achieve a high standard of painting and drawing via online courses, books, videos etc?

Use Her Name

What you learn is not passive. You reach out and struggle to catch it. My thought is that it is very difficult to only have one source of material and training. You are often also “marked” by your teachers. That is, your work takes on a kind of fingerprint from the person (or people) who taught you. You can work with multiple people. Either apprenticeships, Ateliers, workshops, chance meetings, conversations, and of course, books and videos. Each time you gain insight, and this shifts into your artwork, you have the imprint of this event in your work. It occurs in a similar way as writers.

No longer a member of WC. Bye.

mo-hammad

you know- its very helpfull if some one as an instructor be near to you – for giving you tips and solving youre works problem and there is no Doubts
                about this . ok – but if youre so serious to do it in self teaching way

i suggest – for the start and beginner step its better you have a teacher and after that you can use internet and books and …

grain-of-sand

I have had the same problems. I have some lessons with teachers, they helped me a lot, but now, i realized that i have to learn by solving the problems as i am planning or painting (how is the composition, values, colors etc). We have to make decisions as what happens with other professionals . We, artists, will have to deal with these situations always, i think we learn from these experiences, with sucess and failure. I dont know if i am in the right way, the time will say.

Abdushakur