Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting My lotus painting – wip – how to paint background?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    PhuongMy

Canvas 50×70

Before

After, not finished yet

I have no clue how to paint background with knife. I will learn about it next week.

oil painting (from middle of April 2018)

C&C are always welcome.

123harry

I think it needs to ba as simple as possible. The plain blue toned ground you started with seems ideal to me. The flower is graceful and beautifully painted. The current background detracts from it.

C&C always welcome.
            Instagram harry.hamill

PhuongMy

I have the same thought, Harry, tks.

C&C are always welcome.

Humbaba

It is advisable to paint the background before you paint the flower, or before you complete the main theme.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klSlTlsUc18

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHo-KyNtOnQ

kentiessen

It can be very simple- if you can paint a flower like this, a background is easy. Anything to set the flower off: a suggestion of sky, grass, or just about anything will do. Look at the top of my recent rose sketch thread here in oils- just a bit of color and texture-

Ken Tiessen

www.KenTiessenArt.com
                        Comments or Critiques welcomed...always!

PhuongMy

It is advisable to paint the background before you paint the flower, or before you complete the main theme.

[url]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klSlTlsUc18[/url]

[url]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHo-KyNtOnQ[/url]

Volegov is one of my favorite artists on YouTube. Yes, I know background should be painted first, but I still feel the need to modify it when it is too boring… Thanks very much Humbaba

C&C are always welcome.

PhuongMy