Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting Naming paintings

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    TomMather

Apparently many artists put a lot of thought into naming their paintings. I’m one who doesn’t. To me, a painting is a visual statement and usually doesn’t need any verbal interpretation. So I just use simple descriptive titles, such as XYZ Lake in Winter. Ironically, I worked as a writer for many years, but I don’t wax poetic with my titles.

I’m not criticizing those who name their paintings, but I’m curious about the process. Do you come up with a name or theme before you start or complete a painting, or does it come to you afterwards? Do you consider the name an essential part of the painting? Do you feel that it adds to someone’s appreciation or understanding of the work?

Dcam

Hi Tom: I try to get the title down in a brief word or two. I don’t like to get cliche; like “serenity” or “solitude”. I think just adding “untitled” or a number to the work is NOT going to help sell it in the average gallery.
            I guess “Tasteful” is the way I go.
            I think the customer is owed some kind of title when their work is displayed in the home. Just me though.

TWAdair Art

I title mine after they are finished. sometimes it takes a while to come up with a good name. Usually 1 or 2 words. I see the title as being like a bow that ties up a present. Once its finished, you sign it, and give it a name. And at that point it feels completed!

contumacious

Weird, long, BIG or “fancy” titles for me are like gigantic red signatures – They detract from the visual experience. If the title and/or the signature are/is the (two) most attention getting aspect(s) of the painting……….