WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Art Business Center > General Art Business
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-05-2019, 03:39 PM

How much is my skill alone worth per hour?

Hi,
I'm a hobbyist who would be selling to "the general public". I know pricing has many factors, but I'd like a rough estimate of my "price per hour equivalent". How much is my skill level alone worth?

It costs money to develop skill so if that figure is too low then I'm basically losing money, even if the total work sells for a decent amount.

My stuff is at: bit.ly/ndarts

#2   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-05-2019, 04:40 PM
A Local Legend
Boerne, TX USA

Hails from United States
Re: How much is my skill alone worth per hour?

Sorry...but price per hour and time and materials are simply not marketable ways to sell fine art. If you are a plumber, carpenter or other trade, mebbe so...but not for an artist.

The only thing which matters in the art business is the quality of the finished work...and not how long it took you to get there or how much paint and paper you used.

One useful pricing approach is to compare your work to that of others of similar quality who display and sell their work, and calculate a comparable square inch price.