Home Forums Explore Media Oil Pastels Oil Pastel Library Oil Pastel Miscellaneous Oil Pastels – Sealer for oil pastels

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

Can anyone give me some advice on sealing an oil pastel ‘painting’ I’ve done on canvas? I don’t want to have to put it under glass. Also, how long does the picture have to dry before using any type of sealer. How can I tell that it’s dry? PJ

I’ve never heard of “sealing” oil pastels. I have heard of using fixative on them, but it seems to be generally agreed that fixing of oil pastels is unnecessary because they’re not going to smear in the way that soft pastels do. Somebody does make a fixative for oil pastels (I think it’s Sennelier??). I also don’t think there’s any “drying time” you need to be concerned about.

I am not an expert (obviously), but since no one else has answered your questions, I figured I’d tell you what little I think I know.

I've had all I can stand, I can't stands no more!
    - Popeye

I used to use oil pastels a lot before I switched to soft pastels. In my experience, oil pastels never dry completely, as oil paint does. They need to be framed under glass like any other pastel painting.

——————
    Barry Katz

Barry Katz

LA

hi

i have been using oil pastels a little and find them very useful but i have noticed that they do tend to come off the paper/board. i find that the courser the paper/board, the more oil pastel that it will hold, but that can sometimes lead to overworking the picture.

recently i attempted an oil pastel and white spirit painting. the white spirit ‘melted’ the pastel and made it rather like a thin oil painting wash. it was really effective and enjoyable, however i have found that since, every time u touch it, the oil pastel comes off!!

i dont know of any other way to fix it other than fixative. which incidently i tried …. it didnt work though! it still comes off! but not just as much!