Home Forums Explore Media Casein, Gouache, and Egg Tempera -NSFW- Gouache on wood experiment

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Trond

Hi folks!
        I have rarely posted anything here. In fact, I rarely finish anything, due to my impatience, often using oils and then losing inspiration, or just being plain too busy. I was also tired of trying to imitate nature too much, so lately I have been sketching from imagination a bit more, and being inspired from old book illustrations etc. Yesterday I thought that I should give that board that I prepped with a grey casein ground a try. I just started drawing on the board, mostly free fantasy, but the pose is loosely based on a model reference book. I then went over the drawing with a casein wash (to “fix” it), and the rest is done in gouache.

So, it’s gouache on wood (casein ground). Not sure if it is 100% finished (maybe I will fix the hair a bit, and the water), but I doubt I will do much more.

Delofasht

Fantastic, I could see calling it done, no shame in that, it’s very well handed overall, I really like the strong pattern of light and dark on the figure. The dreamlike quality and graphic appeal of the rest is quite good too. Good work, maybe this is an approach you could do more frequently, the results seem good to me.

- Delo Delofasht
            Trond

Fantastic, I could see calling it done, no shame in that, it’s very well handed overall, I really like the strong pattern of light and dark on the figure. The dreamlike quality and graphic appeal of the rest is quite good too. Good work, maybe this is an approach you could do more frequently, the results seem good to me.

Thank you! :)

The only thing I would work a tiny bit more would be the shaded side of the moon. It could be a bit more homogeneous