Home Forums Explore Media Pen and Ink Ink as a paint?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    cwilliamson

So I’ve discovered that I really enjoy using acrylic inks in the same manner as watercolor paints? But I also use a nib to pull and guide the ink around the paper. It feels more..organic and I like the effect.

What do all y’all think? Is that wrong?

Clark

oldey

I like it! As a watercolor painter I see it as a similar path. As an artist I don’t think there are rules about how you create art. There are rules created by art societies and art competitions to participate in their activities but do you care about that? Just do what you love. Throughout time artists have followed their own path and not followed the norms of the moment. So create and have fun!

I am glad that you have successfully done what I was thinking about. I may use a brush on some acrylic ink in part of mine.

cwilliamson

Thanks Oldie, I do enjoy it and will continue. I think I enjoy it more than watercolor work which is surprising. Artmarkie, I think what I like most is when I’ve put a layer down and I dry it it stays put since it’s acrylic and I can add another wash over it without fear of lifting the previous layers. I’ve been using the Dr. PH Martin Bombay inks though I really like the W&N inks because they are transparent but unfortunately they are’t color fast so make it, scan it, and print it so I’ll stick with the Martin ones for now I guess.

Clark

Anonymous

Well it is not pen & ink – the name of this forum.
                    Pen & ink as a medium is fundamentally founded in drawing the use of line , while your art is good I do wonder whether anybody clicking on the pen & ink button would be specifically interested in such work.

cwilliamson