Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    ntl

10×14 oil on stretched canvas

How can I improve this?
        The shore line seems off a bit.
        What of the trees–fore and mid ground?

what of the water?
        Thanks!

Winter guy

Nice painting. Only thing that I see is it feels like everything is running down the right side. there are 7 lines all running off the same direction which gives the feeling that the painting is not straight. The trees are also slanting to the right. If this is a lake Often times you will see a section of the water that is blown by the wind and shows white but the rest can be still. I think if you break up some of the lines and straighten some so they are not all going in the same direction it would give more balance to the painting. Also maybe darkening the water. I am not a pro. Just my thoughts, but I do like the painting.

ntl

Thanks!
                It really IS leaning! Good suggestions, all. I will work on them. That far shore line will get some work, too. Now, to not tip it the other way!

~JMW~

Also..
                    Make a value change on the left side trees to separate them for distance & interest….Being the same color blends them all together..

~Joy~

ntl

I think that’s what caught my eye in the first place! It’s been in my room for a while, then had to set it lower and it started to bother me.
                        Thanks!

bobbybirds

With the water, in my very limited experienced opinion, I might suggest having some smaller details near the back shoreline getting a bit larger as your are moving towards the foreground/water line to give more depth and distance to the lake overall. I really like it!

ntl

The painting as first shown was completed I think in 1983. That’s some of what I knew then, this is some of what I know now… :)
                                So, progress: