Home Forums The Think Tank Creativity Rekindling the spark….

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Dave Owen

It’s been a while since I was last on WetCanvas and have spent the last 2.8yrs
        doing virtually nothing with my art.
        To show how bad it’s got I have an image below of my painting area and I can tell you now that it’s had very little use in the last 2.8yrs.

Believe it or not that above area has seen only 5 small (16″x 12″) paintings done in those 2.8yrs. What a waste of space that is.

I was a full time artist and had sold many (1000+) paintings over the last 10 years or so prior to well virtually quitting. I was was mainly painting acrylics, but I also enjoyed watercolour painting. 3 examples of the type of paintings I did.

Why I quit is a complex mix of things, this included time pressure, lack of return on investment, children problems, health concerns etc etc… It got so bad at one point I instinctively knew that the moment I started painting the phone would go and someone would want me for something or other.

Now, fast forwarding to today most the above pressures have diminished and I now have the time to paint again on a hobby only basis (even if it’s only 1 a week) , BUT, I just cannot get/acquire the enthusiasm back that I once had. I keep going into my studio space and basically sit there not doing anything,

Even though I have produced those 5 paintings there was no enjoyment or sense of satisfaction in their creation. It was like just going through the motions.

I NEED HELP. I don’t want to make a living from my art, I don’t want adulation or praise, I just want to enjoy picking up a brush again and creating something that gave me enjoyment in the way it used to.

SO, I am looking for suggestions, help, or even a kick up the butt if it helps me get back what I have lost….