Home Forums Explore Media Pen and Ink Lamy or Rotring Artpen… or something else? HELP!

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    ImpastoArtist

Hi everyone,

I haven’t posted on here very often, so please forgive me if this post is in the wrong location.

I am wanting to get into sketchbook work with pen, ink and perhaps water color washes. I know that this has been posted on other threads, but I just couldn’t find the info I was after there. Can you help?

Down to my question…
        What pen would you recommend? I’m thinking a Lamy Safari or Rotring Artpen. Or is there another better product out there? I know nothing about these pens.

By trade I was a Draftsman, so I do know the Rapidograph pens very well. They are high maintenance, and I think, lack personality. For me; now I would like to try something a little more expressive that I can take with me easily. So a pen with a varied nib size would be great.

I would be grateful to hear your recommendations… plus if you have example of your work I could see (with the pen you recommend), that would be fantastic! You know what they say… a picture says a thousand words! That way I can see the type of mark said pen would typically make.

Eagerly awaiting your reply,
        Mark

[FONT=Century Gothic]

Visit my website: http://www.markduggan.co.nz/

I was a surveyor and used Rotring pens for decades. I personally love the Lamy Safari pens and use them with Noodler’s Bulletproof ink which is safe to use in fountain pens and is waterproof when dry. I have a refilling adaptor so I fill from the bottle. I also do pen and wash.

I am not keen on the Art Pen as the cartriges are not waterproof.

Doug

We must leave our mark on this world

Anonymous