Home Forums The Learning Center Studio Tips and Framing Small studio space idea help please!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    bobbybirds

Hey all!

I am a baby wannabe artist at almost 50yo, never having done anything outside of industrial arts like woodworking, blade making, car building etc, and having just picked up oil painting a bit less than a year ago and it has quickly become an all encompassing obsession for me.

My wife is an avid quilter and having just bought her a 14ft long arm quilting machine, we turned the old living room into a full blown quilting studio, blew out a wall between the dining area an old bedroom which has left me with what was the den my lovely bride has graciously allowed me to set up as a painting studio space for myself! :lol: It is not a large space but it is mine to do with as I please and I would like to think it out a bit before plowing into making/buying storage and work furniture so I was hoping maybe some of you who have been through this could provide me with some valuable insights and ideas. I will provide a brief description and a few photos of the area for consideration.

The space itself is smaller at just a few inches over 10 foot x 10 foot, so pretty much a square, with an 8 foot high ceiling. The widowed wall is west facing but fortunately we are surrounded by forest on all sides so bright direct sunlight is not an issue as it gets filtered through the trees quite effectively other than maybe a couple hours in the late afternoon in the dead of summer. On the east facing side it is a standard doorway with 3 tall open slots into the dining area which has three almost floor to ceiling windows on the north wall so that provides nice light into the workspace from the open slots in the studio wall.