Home Forums Explore Media Oil Pastels Oil Pastel Talk How to Get Started in Painting Ocean Water Scenes Using OPs

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Flycatcher10

I’ve had a number of pm’s asking how to paint ocean scenes, mainly water. I thought I would share some observations and an example. There are many artists on WC who have mastered this topic and are extremely talented, have far more experience than what I’ll be sharing and if you go to their personal website you’ll see gorgeous paintings.

Hopefully the information below will help you get started – it’s only my opinion. I’m not an expert in this area, but I’ve struggled enough in my quest to learn how to paint this subject matter that I have some things to pass along. Don’t hesitate to ask any questions, chime-in with your own comments, etc.. We are here to help or receive help to broaden our artist abilities. Truth be told, I need all the help I can get and am eternally grateful for the unselfish assistance that has been given to me over the past eight months by many people on this website. I have a long ways to go as there are many nuances to learn about OP painting, but I’d like to share a few things that have started to make my learning process just a bit easier. Hopefully it will do the same for you. Thanks – Mary

The Marine section on WC is a treasure-trove of information pertaining to this topic. For one they have a e-book “thread” they’ve put together (free of charge) that is very well done and covers everything from constructing waves, to painting boulders and cliffsides. [/COLOR]It’s an excellent reference that you can download.

The Marine section has a thread w/tons of reference images. Excellent source of inspiration.