Home Forums Explore Media Watercolor The Learning Zone Paintpaper (for the millionth time!)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    fox0r

I’m just getting into watercolor — my MIL paints and she taught me some stuff..and will teach me more later. She said she uses mostly Daniel Smith paint, and mentioned that she had some Maimeri Blu but didn’t like it as much.

She gave me a palette with paint already in it.. and had an idea of what some of the colors were.. but wasn’t positive on all of them. Obviously, I can’t use this palette forever, so I will need to purchase some paint!

From what I’ve seen skimming the forums, both of these are good paints, and I have enjoyed using them.

My question is, what is the best place to buy them, and what colors should I buy?

She mentioned a rose (I don’t think it was Quinacridon Rose but I could be wrong. I think I wrote it down), phtalo blue, and lemon.

I think I would like to stick to 10 colors or less at this point (preferably less, as to not be overwhelmed).

She also uses Archer’s paper, which I liked a lot… so I would love to know the best place to buy that too!

Thanks!

ETA: I just looked at how much Archer’s paper is some places, wow. :o I don’t think I want to spend that much on paper just yet… If anyone can suggest an economy starter paper that is pretty good, that would be awesome!

terranersa

I like bee paper 100% cotton, you can find it on amazon.

pumkin54

1. Places: I do most of my online shopping at Jerry’s Artarama[/URL] or Dick Blick[/URL]. Occasionally I visit Daniel Smith[/URL] or Cheap Joe’s, but only when they’re having a good sale/shipping special.