Home Forums Explore Media Watercolor The Learning Zone What drawing pen and ink in your watercolor kit?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    star fisher

Several photos of watercolor kits posted here have fountain pens in them. Are you using (water soluable) fountain pen ink with your watercolor and ink drawings?
        I have fountain pens for writing but have not used them for watercolor and pen drawings because the ink smears when wet. I want to try using a fountain pen for a watercolor and ink drawing but do not want to ruin a pen using ink with shellac in it, like the dip pen inks.
        The Lamy Safari pen seems popular in this group. Why that one?

SilentW

I’m new to WetCanvas and watercolor, but this is what I know.
            The Lamy Safari fountain pen is so popular because it’s sturdy, quite affordable and the nib is perfect for drawing.
            There’re waterproof inks, which can be used with fountain pens for example De Atramentis Document ink, Platinum Carbon ink, some Iron Gall inks (made for FP), Sailor Nano inks aso.
            You can also use water soluable inks to your advantage like for pen and ink, wetting parts of the ink for shading. There’re great artists (like Liz Steel or Jane Blundell), who use this technique.
            I hope some more experienced artists will jump in.

Silas (Who loves and still writes/draws with fountain pens)
            PS If you have further (in depth) questions regarding fps and inks, just ask.

I either use a Lamy Safary fountain pen with Noodler’s Bulletproof ink, or any number of waterproof pigmented, fadeproof fibre tip pens by Pitt, Uniball, Staedler etc.

Doug

We must leave our mark on this world

VanAndrew