Home Forums The Learning Center Composition and Design Any Tips for a Beginner?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Hello! :wave: I’m a high school artist, and new here to WetCanvas. While working through my art projects, I’ve come up with a list of questions that I would love to get some feedback on. These all apply to composition, but if you have more general answers for them, I’d love to hear those, too.

[*]Who are the most controversial or unorthodox artists? What do you think of them, and what did they teach you?
      [*]What are the biggest myths you see in art?
      [*]What are the biggest wastes of time?
      [*]What are your favorite instructional books or resources on art? If people had to teach themselves, what would you suggest they use?
      [*]What are the biggest mistakes beginners make when working with composition?
      [*]What mistakes are most common, even at the professional level?
      [*]Who are the most impressive lesser known teachers?
      [*]How much do you analyze your composition and stylistic decisions when painting? Do you tend to make long, thought out plans for composition, or go more by gut feeling and intuition?
      [*]What were some of the best lessons you had to learn?

[*]What are the biggest wastes of time?

Waiting for inspiration. Just paint.
    Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working. –Picasso
    and