Home Forums The Learning Center Studio Tips and Framing Spray paint + oil paint

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    geneguynn

Hey guys. I’m a long time reader but a first time poster :-)

I’m an oil painter and am very comfortable with keeping everything archival. I’ve recently started experimenting with more and more layering effects, working with oil on top of watercolors, inks, acrylics, etc.

I’ve been experimenting a lot with spray paint especially, and specifically montana gold spray paint. I’m wondering:

a) how archival is spray paint?
        b) can I put spray paint on top of my oils?

I’m thinking it will be fine, because as far as I can tell the Montana spray paint is lacquer based, not water or acrylic. I’ve also heard about a brand of spray paint called Plutonium G which is oil-based and recommended for ‘artists’ use’.

Anyone have any experience with layering spray paints with oils, and any insights into my concern for archival stability?

Thanks,
        Gene Guynn (.com)

Hi Gene, welcome to the site and the Studio Tips forum.

Just as a start there are many artists who consider painting in oils over acrylics to always be a bad idea. So that’ll give you some idea of the subjectivity of the whole archival thing :)

a) how archival is spray paint?

No way to know for sure. If it’s a concern I think you’ll have to do more research and inevitably this will come down to you conducting your own testing.

b) can I put spray paint on top of my oils?

You can but of course the question is whether you should :) i.e. whether it’s stable.

There’s no assurance of stability, especially if you’re putting it on top of oil paint of any significant thickness and if you’re not waiting for it to fully cure before you spray on it (i.e. waiting maybe six months and longer, just as one is supposed to with varnish, but not for all the same reasons).