Home Forums Explore Media Watercolor The Learning Zone Watercolor paints with very little water?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    mercfredis

Hi, I am a new artist. My first painting was done with watercolor tubes. I found myself not using a whole lot of water. The result didn’t look like a typical watercolor; I was able to layer the watercolors well.

What would you call doing art with watercolors (in tubes) without adding much water? I know something called gouache exists, but I just have plain ol’ watercolors and I found using very little water worked OK.

What are the considerations here? Thanks so much!

mercfredis

otherworlder

It depends on what you are painting and how you want to portray it. Very normal for botanical artists (one example) to paint dry brush throughout. But for things like the sky, faraway mountains, water, etc. if you do it with just dry brush, it’s likely that colors get muddled and uneven for a large surface with dry brush and many layers.

mercfredis

Yeah this is it, I think I attached it…Funny you said botanical cuz yes it is a poinsettia bloom. :)

Violet Roses

Wow, your watercolor looks like gouache! Painting so thickly like this with watercolor paint could quickly become very expensive since watercolor tubes are so small.

If you want to paint opaquely, use layering, and not have to use up so much paint, I would recommend gouache. Other options are casein, acrylic gouache, or matte acrylics. I think that you might really like gouache in particular and do well with it! Some botanical artists and illustrators use gouache and produce beautiful works with it. :)

I love mixed media!