Home Forums Explore Media Pastels Soft Pastel Talk Help with Choosing Darks and Lights

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Misspris

As a newbie, I have a nice little assortment of brands and colors but noticed while painting I don’t have enough really good darks or lights so I’m off to purchase some. I’m on a budget (aren’t we all, well most, lol), so want to spend $60. Jackson’s has Art Spectrum Extra Soft Squares Set of 10 for $30 which is like $25 cheap then in the US. They have a set of darks and highlight colors. I’ve never tired this brand before, but they are in my cart and I’m so close to hitting the button on them. Anyone have experience with these, as I never hear them mentioned.

They also have Unisons and Blue Earths, at $3.00 a stick, so I could also just buy individual colors. I’ve tried both these brands. Blue earths are softer then unisons. Since usually you want to get darks down first, maybe some Unison darks, and then some Blue Earth for lights, or does it not really matter that much?

I like doing mostly portraits along with some landscapes. What are your favorite darks or highlight colors? I’m open to suggestions?

I lied, for real now, one more thing just to make it more confusing for anybody willing to help. Jackson’s house brand also has a set of 14 darks for $30, though I never hear anyone talking about these either, the price is right, but not sure they’re up to par quality wise, never tried them. Thanks for any advice.