Home Forums The Think Tank Creativity How to keep creativity alive?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    NeoGogh

I work as a graphic designer in a tiny company. My job previously has been to establish their visual identity. Since I have done that, they have become very negligent towards me and the position that I hold and so now my daily work is to make boring lifeless illustrations. Every single day I get topics on a same subject and I make variable illustrations for low quality articles. I also have been asked to take away “art” from my design and illustration and make it modular, so that they won’t need an artist in future. I work overhour and for a very little money and commute for long.
        I plan to move on to a better workplace in 4-5 months. But until then I fear that my daily activity is so mundane that it will rob me of my creativity. This company has no scope for me to grow as an artist or designer whatsoever.

What can I do to still keep my creativity alive despite this mundane tiring situation until I can move on to a better job?

Pthalo White

I can’t give you advice about your employer relationship.

But I can tell you that the author of Catcher in the Rye wrote his novel while fighting WWII in Europe. That’s my nicest way of saying it’s not a good idea to blame your creativity on a mundane job, imo. Creativity is a thread that runs through you 24 hours a day. Keith Richards used to keep a tape recorder next to his bed. One day he taped a string of chords, and now we have the beginning to “Satisfaction’.

In practical terms, when you’re not at work, what are you doing? Does it nurture your creativity? What books are you reading? Do you keep a journal, or sketchbook where you record ideas, musings, and doodling, and/or keep reference materials in? You may not have any control over what you do at work, but you have all the control when you’re not working. How is that time being spent? Use it wisely.