Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting Back to painting

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    pompy

Hi all,

It’s been several years (about 7) since i painted anything… I don’t recall even drawing anything unless it was for some community activity or holidays. I have four kids (the oldest is 6) which partially explain this…

So I’ve decided to treat myself with a painting class if only to set a few hours a week to paint. We use different mediums (watercolors, oils, acrylics, pastels etc.). I have many questions… I’m basically a beginner and somewhat new to oil painting though I lurked on Wetcanvas for several years so have a little knowledge on theory.

we’re painting elephants. Drew a sketch from a ref pic, to then paint it on canvas. I painted the first layer in burnt umber,
        There are a few issues regarding the gesso at the top of the trunk and on the right. Do you think i can correct this? should painting over it would suffice? what do you recommend?

Also, the class was over before i could finish the first layer, by next time it would be dry, can i continue to work with it? or just rely on the next layers? Should the first layer contain all the fine details or just give general lights or shadows?

I wish the elephant to be turquoise and aubergine for the shadows, maybe some pink for highlights and have dark background, Do you think this can work?

Also, I have many paints from years ago (I like to collect art and craft materials…) also mediums and brushes.. a little bit afraid to check if they’re still OK. Do you think the can be used?

Adi

pompy

A little bit of progress…

Adi

Pthalo White

Painting classes are fun. I’m glad you decided to treat yourself; we all need to do that.

I’ve tried to use old oils; some worked and some didn’t, depending on the pigment and the brand. If you’re treating yourself to a class, why not treat yourself with new paint? I’d definitely toss the mediums.