WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Town Center > WC Site Technical Discussions
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-01-2007, 11:08 PM
Marty C's Avatar
Marty C Marty C is offline
A WC! Legend
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 20,894
 
Hails from Australia
Re: Using Gallery Manager

The files are there, but you have probably used bad file names.
Don't use any symbols such as [email protected]#$%^&*()-+, or gaps in the file name. Rename them, and re-upload, and you should be able to see them.
  #62   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:06 AM
Camobob's Avatar
Camobob Camobob is offline
Enthusiast
Dallas, Georgia
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,493
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Marty C
I have been trying for about 2 weeks to upload my pieces into the Agent/Gallery... When I finished uploading, it told me that I have sucessfully
uploaded my pieces, but nothing was in my Gallery..this happened time after
time...
Don't you think this process could be made alot easier?
I have sent a couple of e-mails to the support team...but not reply yet..
Your comments would be appreciated..

Thanks,
Camobob
  #63   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:29 AM
MonicaB's Avatar
MonicaB MonicaB is offline
A WC! Legend
Atlanta
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19,252
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Hi Bob. Don't forget it's a three step process -- upload the images, create your collection, then add the uploaded images into your collection . . .
  #64   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 10:45 AM
Marty C's Avatar
Marty C Marty C is offline
A WC! Legend
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 20,894
 
Hails from Australia
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Hi Bob,
It's been designed this way to give you, the user, flexibility.
When you first upload your images, it's like you are delivering all your pieces to the gallery warehouse. A store room for all your work.

You then have to act as the curator, making different collections based on subject, medium, theme, whatever you decide.

Once you have decided on your collections, you move the pieces from the storeroom into the gallery space you have created, complete with descriptions and information for the gallery visitors. In this way your work can be displayed in a more cohesive fashion, similar to a real gallery.

It may seem cumbersome on the first use, but there really isn't an easier way to manage a multi-collection environment.
  #65   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:24 PM
Camobob's Avatar
Camobob Camobob is offline
Enthusiast
Dallas, Georgia
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,493
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Monica B & Marty C.
I didn't forget it's a 3 step process, I thought I was following that 3 step
process, several times... after uploading my pieces, it told me that I have sucessfully uploaded my pieces, yet my Gallery was empty..I understand your theory, however, it's seems that I can't get though the "Uploading" step....do you know what I am doing wrong?
  #66   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:37 PM
MonicaB's Avatar
MonicaB MonicaB is offline
A WC! Legend
Atlanta
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19,252
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

When you click on the button called Pieces next to your Collection, what happens? Does it take you to another screen with a link that says Add a new piece to this collection?
  #67   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 01:37 PM
Camobob's Avatar
Camobob Camobob is offline
Enthusiast
Dallas, Georgia
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,493
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Monica B
I'll try to re-trace my steps..
1. I established a Collection in the name of Bob Bagby Studio
2. I uploaded 37 pieces
3. then, the next screen gave me a choice ...
back to gallery mgr or
upload additional images
4. I went back to gallery mgr.
I never saw "pieces" or "add pieces to your collection"
Is this a serious blunder that I made? I'd like to think its not me..(but it probably is) but don't say it is..
What shall I do now?

Awaiting your advise..
Camobob
  #68   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 01:50 PM
Rose Queen's Avatar
Rose Queen Rose Queen is offline
A WC! Legend
So. California
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 27,078
 
Hails from United Nations
Re: Using Gallery Manager

When you look at the bottom of the Gallery Manager page, do you see something like this?



If so, click one of the "pieces" buttons (highlighted in pink). That should take you to another page, at the top of which will be a blue link for adding pieces to that collection.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
  #69   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:02 PM
faunaphile13 faunaphile13 is offline
Senior Member
Aldergrove, British Columbia
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 113
 
Hails from Canada
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Hey, Camobob- I'm having problems too, I've retraced my steps as well and amended anything in my own computer files that I thought might be a contributing factor and tried again. It informs my that my upload was successful but when I try to view what's supposedly there I get the error message, "sorry for any inconvenience" and I can't upload any other way either anymore. I could a couple of days ago but obviously other people aren't having any trouble at all. They're currently posting pics all over the place! Anyway, just like you and many others I sure wish we could get an idea time-wise (weeks or days) as to how long until this glitch is fixed; everybody needs to accomplish other things in the day instead of getting frustrated. Chin up, buddy!
  #70   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 03:05 PM
MonicaB's Avatar
MonicaB MonicaB is offline
A WC! Legend
Atlanta
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19,252
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

As of today, they are upgrading our servers. That may be part of the issue. I tried looking at your gallery and got an error message. Let's try again later today?
  #71   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-04-2007, 03:10 PM
Camobob's Avatar
Camobob Camobob is offline
Enthusiast
Dallas, Georgia
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,493
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

faunaphile 13

Thanks for the response.. yea I've been trying for quite awhile now, and
I am getting a complex.feeling kinda of stupid.. I know other people are having
similar problems like yourself,.. and I guess we are keeping the moderators busy, I probably shouldn't say this, but I had NO PROBLEM, in uploading my 37 pieces in the Hometown Art Gallery.. I don't mean this in a bad or critical a
way, I just don't understand why we folks are having all these problems..The
Hometown Art Gallery system seemed lot simpler.
But, I faith in these Moderators, and I'm sure they will help up upload sucessfully.
Bob
  #72   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-05-2007, 11:25 AM
Camobob's Avatar
Camobob Camobob is offline
Enthusiast
Dallas, Georgia
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,493
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Monica, Rose Queen,

1. On the Gallery Manager page, at the bottom it shows..Bob Bagby Studio
as active, with 12 pieces in the Gallery. I can't see any photos of which
12 pieces.. so I don't duplicate them.. I went back and forth several times
so I don't know which out of my 37 they are. Shouldn't I see the small photos
of them?
2. When I went to the Gallery it was empty..
3. The Piece manager shows total pieces in collection "O"
Can you tell if my 37 pieces were uploaded? If not which ones were..
Thanks,
Bob (Camobob)
  #73   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-05-2007, 11:47 AM
MonicaB's Avatar
MonicaB MonicaB is offline
A WC! Legend
Atlanta
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19,252
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Hi Bob, I can see that you have a collection set up but I get a database error when I click on the collection. I think it might be wise to wait until all the upgrades are complete, and then we'll have an admin come over to check things out. I'll keep an eye on the site announcements for notification on when the upgrade is complete.
  #74   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-05-2007, 01:55 PM
Camobob's Avatar
Camobob Camobob is offline
Enthusiast
Dallas, Georgia
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,493
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Monica B
Thanks, will do...
I just don't know where I am right now, what's uploaded (if any) and what's not...
I think I'll turn my computer off for now(cause the grandkids will be here soon turning it back on) and go make some Spaghetti and Meatballs, perhaps some Ziti too.
Thanks again for all your help....
Bob
Bob
  #75   Report Bad Post  
Old 10-05-2007, 02:34 PM
MonicaB's Avatar
MonicaB MonicaB is offline
A WC! Legend
Atlanta
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19,252
 
Hails from United States
Re: Using Gallery Manager

Now *that* sounds like a good plan!!! We'll get this straightened out eventually.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 AM.


© 2014 F+W All rights reserved.