WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Town Center > WC Site Technical Discussions
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 05:57 PM
scottb's Avatar
scottb scottb is offline
A Local Legend
Atlanta, GA
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 7,274
 
Update on the "speediness" of the new site

Just an update. I found a couple of things that would possibly cause some latency (slowdown), and have corrected them. Also found a few things that would most likely cause some latency, and have corrected those.

Please let me know how you all are faring now ...

Cheers.
Scott
__________________
B. Scott Burkett
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing Copal!"
Reply With Quote
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 06:20 PM
Johnnie's Avatar
Johnnie Johnnie is offline
Immortalized
"" Lincoln, Ontario""
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,102
 
Hails from Canada
Update

Hi.

On my end its purking along just great.

A bit of a stall when going to reply here but whats a second or two huh?? lol

To me its better.

Im on cable and in Ontario if you need that info.

JJ


Great board good job.
I am having a blast. Even for an Old guy ;-]
Reply With Quote
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 07:56 PM
vklum's Avatar
vklum vklum is offline
Enthusiast
Planet Vicster
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,521
 
Well, I'm on an "ancient" 56k dial up connection and to be honest I haven't noticed any pokieness at all...except with the usual large images that people post. But those have always been slow and that's down to my dial up connection.

BTW, I love the new design!
__________________
</victoria>
My Photography Portfolio :: My Blog
Please let me know if you would like to reproduce any of my images. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 08:18 PM
ShellyF's Avatar
ShellyF ShellyF is offline
Enthusiast
Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,325
 
Hails from Canada
Hi Scott,

The speed has picked up a bit, but I still find it slower than the "old" site, especially viewing posts with pictures. I also find it slow for the little icons for "go to first new post" and the little envelopes indicating if there are new replies to come up.
__________________
Shelly

Reply With Quote
  #5   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 08:35 PM
Lulu's Avatar
Lulu Lulu is offline
A WC! Legend
Aotearoa NZ
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 23,940
 
Still a pitb to me.......... takes from 35 seconds to 3 mins to upload anything, and I had to have several tries to get to make this reply.
I keep switching bakc to no frills where I have zilch waiting (with my dial-up).
Reply With Quote
  #6   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 09:15 PM
scottb's Avatar
scottb scottb is offline
A Local Legend
Atlanta, GA
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 7,274
 
To all still experiencing problems - try clearing out your browser's cache and giving it a go ...
__________________
B. Scott Burkett
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing Copal!"
Reply With Quote
  #7   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-11-2003, 11:02 PM
ShellyF's Avatar
ShellyF ShellyF is offline
Enthusiast
Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,325
 
Hails from Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by scottb
To all still experiencing problems - try clearing out your browser's cache and giving it a go ...

That did the trick! Everything is running smoothly now

Thank you
__________________
Shelly

Reply With Quote
  #8   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-12-2003, 12:48 AM
Lulu's Avatar
Lulu Lulu is offline
A WC! Legend
Aotearoa NZ
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 23,940
 
Quote:
Originally posted by scottb
To all still experiencing problems - try clearing out your browser's cache and giving it a go ...

No change for me.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-12-2003, 08:23 AM
mpopinz's Avatar
mpopinz mpopinz is offline
Enthusiast
Cleveland
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,777
 
Hails from United States
I haven't noticed any difference in speed at all, even since the new look arrived.

Perhaps because I have a cable link? sorta like dsl without the phone?

Anyway, thanx for the new look.
__________________
Iris

........
Reply With Quote
  #10   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-12-2003, 06:43 PM
Lulu's Avatar
Lulu Lulu is offline
A WC! Legend
Aotearoa NZ
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 23,940
 
Just tried again, and everything is now fine - thanks Scott.
Reply With Quote
  #11   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-13-2003, 11:28 AM
atomicbead's Avatar
atomicbead atomicbead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 90
 
Hails from United States
Unhappy

I do have DSL and the download time to edit my website is incredibly long. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #12   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-14-2003, 08:36 AM
MS_Triple MS_Triple is offline
Senior Member
California
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
 
Hails from United States
Thumbs down Re: Update on the "speediness" of the new site

Quote:
Originally posted by scottb
...found a couple of things that would possibly cause some latency (slowdown), and have corrected them. Also found a few things that would most likely cause some latency, and have corrected those.

Please let me know how you all are faring now ...
Please continue looking. There must be more to fine tune. Since changing the appearance of the site I have experienced intermittent delays and displays of code. With IE there is a 10-fold increase of load time. With Netscape there is the delay and intermittent display of code. Sometimes using either browser the site hangs up never loading at all. I use the latest versions of IE and Netscape on a Mac G4. My connection, (56k modem only connects at 26k -go ahead and laugh), was not an issue with the old site and should not be a problem with the new.

What have you done besides change the appearance of the interface? There must be some bloated code somewhere. I cleared the cache without improvement. Just previewing this post took a full 5 minutes before it loaded on screen. This is all just about frustrating enough to offset any desire to continue using the site.
Reply With Quote
  #13   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-14-2003, 10:10 AM
scottb's Avatar
scottb scottb is offline
A Local Legend
Atlanta, GA
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 7,274
 
Re: Re: Update on the "speediness" of the new site

Nope, nothing else has changed. No "bloated" code.

It is entirely possible that your ISP is using a proxy server, which is still affected by the object caching problem we had earlier. In that case, the only solution is to wait for your ISPs proxy server to expire the objects and refresh them.
__________________
B. Scott Burkett
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing Copal!"
Reply With Quote
  #14   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-14-2003, 10:54 AM
TeAnne's Avatar
TeAnne TeAnne is offline
A WC! Legend
Perth Western Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 34,651
 
Hails from Australia
It has got worse here. On ADSL and the pages in WC that I click on are taking so long to open that it times out and I get Site can't be found. Yet the rest of the web is like grease lightening. If I do get in, only half the pages are opening. And yes, I do keep my cache clean
__________________
Red Bubble~My Store Canon 600D
Reply With Quote
  #15   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-14-2003, 10:58 AM
scottb's Avatar
scottb scottb is offline
A Local Legend
Atlanta, GA
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 7,274
 
Running like greased lightning here. Don't know what to say

Remember, network latency (slowdown) can be caused by a million things in between each visitor's computer and our servers.

We did just reboot our routers a second ago, so if you were trying to get in then, you probably would have timed out. Should be fine now though.

You can always run the "TRACERT" program under a DOS window, or use some other Windows-based traceroute program to see if you can identify the bottleneck along the way.
__________________
B. Scott Burkett
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing Copal!"
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.


© 2014 F+W All rights reserved.