Home Forums Explore Media Digital Art Krita vs. natural media?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    bvanevery

My head is exploding from all the digital media research I’ve been doing. Pardon if I haven’t had time to really spend on any particular art package, such as Krita specifically. I’m still figuring out what tablets do or don’t work on Windows 10, etc.

I spent some time reading the Krita forums, to understand whether that community is something I would want to stick with long term. Particularly as I’m a computer programmer and wondering whether or not it’s worth contributing to their project. I came across an Update to Krita’s Vision[/URL] of the future of their project. Some discussion in their Developer forum ensued, with someone worrying that Krita might not be committed to “painting” anymore. The core devs assured that they are committed to “painting”, however that commitment is to digital painting. Not natural media simulation. From commentary on their new vision statement:

Finally, the last paragraph got almost completely rewritten. Gone is real-world materials as an inspiration, and in are our users as inspiration: we won’t let you dictate what Krita can do, or how Krita lets you do stuff, UX design isn’t something that can be created by voting. But we do listen, and for the past years we’ve let you vote for which features you would find most useful, while still keeping the direction of Krita as a whole in our hands.

They seem to have decided, through painful experience as an open source project, that natural materials simulation is slow and hard to do. They aren’t interested in, say, digitally duplicating the viscosity of oil paint, or the fluid flow of watercolor. They seem to be plenty interested in tools that are sorta like that, as to how they work. The quick ‘n’ dirty versions, if you will, rather than any rigorous simulation or faithful representation of traditional analog media.