Home Forums Explore Media Casein, Gouache, and Egg Tempera Trying out gouache, first painting and color swatches

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    monarch

I bought a set of Arteza gouache when it came up as a Lightning sale on Amazon for $29.99 for 60 tubes (0.4 ml each, or 12ml). At the price of 50 cents a tube, it seemed like it was worth a try. The paints are made in China and they claim to be lightfast, except for 4 of the colors in the set (peaches and pinks) which are rated at two stars instead of three.

I can’t really compare it to other brands of gouache since I’ve never used gouache before, but I enjoyed experimenting. I made a lot of mistakes but learned quite a bit about handling gouache in this bird painting. It’s pretty easy to make mud, lol! :lol: And clearly there is quite a learning curve.

I swatched out all of the colors so I’ve included my chart here, in case anyone is wondering about this brand. I put the twelve metallics at the bottom of the chart; their names all start with “Pearl” except for gold, silver and bronze.

I’d love to hear opinions of anyone who has used this brand, and I always welcome C&C on my painting.

C&C welcome and appreciated

Perry

I’ve only made about a dozen paintings in gouache,
            so my knowledge is limited. I’ve always been told
            to buy the best materials you can afford, no matter
            what the medium. But if you can get the colors in
            your paintings the way you want them to be by
            using these paints…go for it.
            Hopefully others in this forum who know a good
            deal about gouache will chime in.

Nice bird.

Yes, I got a set, they are fine.

Nice background to your bird.

Doug

We must leave our mark on this world

monarch